Skip navigation

So, driving past the golf course today on the way to my grandma’s house I got the neatest idea: Gravity Golf. You’d use gravity to launch some sort of a ball for a loop and try to get it to land in some sort of a hole (probably of the black variety). I’ve been wanting to do something with a gravity simulator for a while, and I think that this could potentially be a neat game.

The basic idea is that you start with an asteroid or something, and hurl it out into space. It then interacts with all of the planets and stuff in space via gravity. With any luck you’d be able to get ball to orbit a planet, or use its gravity to launch it out to another planet where it would orbit some more. Should you fall into a fixed orbit, or land on a planet, it’d be like moving to your next hit in golf (I don’t know golf terms, but the thing you count and want to be around par).

Thing could potentially get complicated when we take into account things like stars, and moving planets. Stars would kill your ball, and planets orbiting other things would add to the timing and skill needed for the game.

I’m thinking that I could pull this off, provided it stays in two dimensions. For the physics involved, it’ll need a mass, position, velocity, and acceleration (the last three of which will all be changing). Simulating something interacting with the gravity of multiple planets may also be rather complex, but I’m not going for complete accuracy, and for the time being I’m not thinking about planets interacting with each other.

Leave a comment